The Rectory of Creggan seems to have been appropriated to the Priory of the Culdees before the Reformation.
The Culdees formed an early Scottish-Irish religious order and the Prior was apparently a very senior prelate in the Irish church.
The present parish church in Creggan was built in 1758 on the site of an earlier church building.
The bell tower was added in 1799.
The church occupies a delightfully pleasant position, situated beside the river Creggan which flows through a deep glen noted for its picturesque scenery.
The old Creggan rectory, a quite magnificent building, was demolished some years ago.
Creggan churchyard, a happily shared one, is noted for its memorials, listed in this book.
One of the most interesting buildings in the churchyard is an old stone house with a stone roof, believed to be either the burial house of the Eastwood family, or possibly a watch-house erected to guard against corpse stealers.
Such watch-houses were common in Scotland! - perhaps another link with the Culdee community.
The Church of Ireland population in the parish of Creggan is now quite small, but we are proud of this fine church and its scenic surroundings.
We are happy to welcome all people to our church services, especially on festive occasions.
We try to give expression to Christian ecumenical relationships and hope to make some contribution, however small, to peace and reconciliation in our country.
Creggan means "Rocky Place", a constant and visible reminder of God as the rock of our salvation and the rock on which our Lord promised to build the Christian family.
May God bless this venture and all the people of our community.
Canon David Clarke,