[Home] [The Society] [The Place] [Find Us] [Notice Board] [Sitemap] [Journals] [Other Publications] [Authors] [Guide to Church] [Programme for 2001] [Whats New?] [Links] [Guest Book]

Creggan History Society

The Society

The Creggan Local History Society was formed in 1985 with the objective of collecting and distributing information on all aspects of the history of the Creggan Parish in particular and of South Armagh in general by-

  1. The publication of an historical journal.
  2. Sponsoring at least one annual historical lecture.
  3. Providing an archive of historical material for public consultation
  4. Co-operating with other Societies engaged in like work

To date (2001) we have published nine journals and a number of other publications. We have an extensive archive of documentary and photographic material which is available for research by schools and others interested in the history of the area.

[Other information about other work undertaken by the Society, events hosted, visits undertaken, visitors to the Society, ambitions, planned projects (other than the published programme for the year) etc could be in a separate page or pages]

Officers 2001-2002
Patron Very Rev Canon John Kearney
President Canon David Clarke
Chairperson Mrs Mary Cumiskey
Vice-Chairperson Mr Tony Kieran
Secretary Mrs Geraldine Hanratty
Treasurer Mr Michael McShane

The Society can be contacted through the Secretary at -
Creggan Local History Society
Áras an Chairdinéil Ó Fiaich
Slatequarry Road
Co Armagh
BT35 0JH
Telephone: (028 3086 8757)..or e-mail us at Áras an Chairdinéil Ó Fiaich